Shaolin Kungfu

This is a private webpage meant for students of Shaolin Wahnam Institute. Those who have not undergone any kungfu training courses with Sifu Wong or any of the Certified Shaolin Wahnam Instructors may not be able to understand the content because the material, presented in a very concise manner, is not meant to explain anything, but is meant to remind initiated students what they have learnt or will learn.


Level 1: Fundamentals of Shaolin Kungfu

Form: Basic patterns, stances and footwork.

Application: Specific Techniques.

Force: Zhang Zhuang (basic stances), One Finger Shoot Zen, Leg Stretching.

Philosophy: Dimensions, aims and brief history.


Level 2: Lohan Asks the Way.

Form: Basic set — Lohan Asks the Way.

Application: 4 basic hand attacks and defence from poise patterns.

Force: Zhang Zhuang with hand forms, Spacing, Timing, Breath Co-ordination.

Philosophy: Principles of Attack and Defence.


Level 3: Black Tiger Steals Heart.

Form: Application Set 1 — Black Tiger Steals Heart.

Application: Hand attacks in three-step sequences.

Force: Flow of movement, Quick decision making, Instant modification.

Philosophy: Principles of Force Training.


Shaolin Kungfu

Level 4: Fierce Tiger Speeds Across Valley

Form: Application Set 2 — Fierce Tiger Speeds through Valley, Patterns for kicks and defence.

Application: Further hand attacks in three-step sequences, One-step kicking attacks and defence.

Force: Leg-Stretching Exercises.

Philosophy: Techniques, Tactics and Strategies.


Level 5: Happy Bird Hops up Branch.

Form: Application Set 3 — Happy Bird Hops up Branch.

Application: Combat sequences with kicking attacks.

Force: Breath Co-ordination.

Philosophy: Use of Tactics.


Level 6: Felling Tree with Roots.

Form: Application Set 4 — Felling Tree with Roots.

Application: Combat sequences with holds and falls.

Force: Elegance and Speed.

Philosophy: Use of Strategies.


Level 7: Cross-Roads at Four Gates

Form: Cross-Roads at Four Gates

Application: Combination Set of Four Gates.

Force: Solo performance as well as sparring with picture-perfect form, force, speed but without panting.

Philosophy: Different levels of combat.


Level 8: Shaolin Staff

Form: Flowing Water Staff.

Application: Against staff and other weapons.

Force: Hit, Thrust, and Eye sight training.

Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.


Shaolin Kungfu

Level 9: Shaolin Sabre

Form: Plum Flower Single Sabre.

Application: Against sabre, spear and other weapons.

Force: Accuracy and “sabre force” to cut an apple or any suitable object for testing.

Philosophy: Characteristics of major weapons.


Level 10: Unarmed against Armed

Form: Empty Hands Enter White Blade.

Application: Unarmed against dagger, staff and sabre.

Force: Countering feign moves.

Philosophy: The principles and practice of Apparent and Real.


Level 11: Single Unarmed against Multiple Unarmed

Form: Tiger Enters Herd of Sheep.

Application: Single unarmed against multiple unarmed.

Force: “Bamboo Man” or “Through the Woods”.

Philosophy: “Back-wall battle” and “Dodge-hit battle”.


Level 12: Single Unarmed and Armed against Multiple Armed

Form: Dodge Hit.

Application: Single unarmed and armed against multiple armed.

Force: Dodging skills and using enemy as shields.

Philosophy: “Catch the Leader First” and “Break Through the Weakest”.



Courses and Classes